Tuesday , February 20 2018
This just in!
Home / Uncategorized / Art Awards at Scholars’ Showcase
Art Awards at Scholars’ Showcase

Art Awards at Scholars’ Showcase

Graceland’s Art Department held the 2017 Annual Juried Student Art Exhibition this past Thursday, April 6th in the Constance Gallery. Along with having their work showcased in the Helene Center, students and their works had the chance to win up to $2000 in awards. Students had to have been enrolled in a Studio Art class either this semester or in the Fall of 2016 to have their work submitted to the art show, and freshmen through seniors were allowed to submit.

As he’s not coming back this year, this was Eli Loving’s last Juried Art Show at Graceland as a faculty member. Professor Julia Franklin thanked him for his time at Graceland and the work that he has put in the department and to our students. Loving said, “You’re all doing  great work. Whether you win an award or didn’t get in the show, please keep working. We want to see passionate work and dedication. Please, please, please don’t stop.”

These students won the following awards:

Nicole Snider – Shannon Scholarship of $1000 for her dedication to art and the department

nicole snider

Emily McLaughlin – Claudia van Biber Photo Award (Community Fear) & Honorable Mention for the Mixed Media Les Wight Award (A Day in My Past)

emily mclauchlin

Stephanie Lane – Aaron Engle Ceramic Award (Cookie Jar)

stephanie lane

Sam Hinkhouse (pictured with Eli Loving) – Jeanne Davis Visual Communications Award (Azuline)

sam hinkhouse

Ashley Hahne – Sundell Sculpture Award (Sign Here) & Shannon Best of Show Award (Untold Stories)

ashley hahne

Kyra Stevenson – Van Biber Honorable Mention (Roots)

kyra stevenson

Brayam Suarez – Van Biber Honorable Mention (Plaisir D’Amour)

brayam suarez

The other award winners were not in attendance:

  • Tressa Cummings – Les Wight Award for Painting (San Francisco Snapshot) & Honorable Mention for the Drawing Les Wight Award (Morrisey Portrait)
  • Alison Lancelotti – Les Wight Award for Drawing (Thousand Yea State) & Les Wight Award for Mixed Media (Day Dreaming)

Here’s a little bit of history about the awards and their namesakes:

Shannon Best of Show Award – This award is sponsored by Dwayne & Dottie Shannon. They have supported the art program in numerous ways from donating the Monet Bronze Sculpture and setting up an endowment for scholarships, awards, and equipment. The Atrium is also named after them.

Les Wight Awards – Les Wight was the one and only art faculty for over 25 years in the Division of Fine Arts, and he established the Studio Art major. He also held the distinction of Professor Emeritus, and his students established this fund in his name.

Claudia van Biber Photo Award – Wife of Les Wight, Claudia van Biber was a painter who supported the arts at Graceland.

Aaron Engle Ceramic Award – Aaron Engle was the father of long-time employee Clara Morrell. Her father owned a candy store in town and dabbled in ceramics and art. This award is in memory of him and a reminder to always love what you do in life.

Sundell Sculpture Award – 2 sisters that are Graceland graduates and now professional artists established this award. Gail Sundell’s stone sculpture is on display in the Helene.

Jeanne Davis Visual Communications Award – The other Sundell sister who is a Graceland alumnus and a professional artist. Jeanne is a painter, the Director of Communications at GU, and the curator of the Shaw Art Collection.

835 total views, 1 views today

About Jenna Pitstick

Jenna Pitstick is a senior English and Film/Theatre double-major from outside Chicagoland. She's currently one of the editors of The Tower and is obsessed with memes, cats, and writing investigative journalism that makes people question what they really support and believe.

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top
%d bloggers like this: